365 Days of Writing Prompt…Day One

When I first started this blog, I was trying to find ways to post constantly, if not daily. I came across the 365 Writing Prompt Challenge from The Daily Post. Unfortunately when I started this blog, it was June. I didn’t want to jump in the middle of the ebook, so I decided to wait until the new year. I hope I can stick with it for the entire year!

Day One: Where were you last night when 2014 turned into 2015? Is that where you’d wanted to be?

Yes and no. Last night, my family and I stayed at hotel. Usually our tradition is go to the Manchester Monarchs New Year’s Eve game. But on Saturday, my sister saw a poster informing us that Recycled Percussion was playing for four days at The Palace in Manchester. They’re one of our favorite bands and we’ve only gotten to see them perform live once. So we knew that we had to go to the show and break out hockey game tradition. I’m glad we did, granted the Monarchs shut out the St. John’s Ice Caps 4-0 (and we would have gotten a free McDonald’s fry if we had gone) but I gotta say, that was one of the best, if not THE BEST concert I’ve ever been to. Those boys are so unbelievably talented! I mean, Vegas did keep them for 500 shows! But not only was the music amazing but there was so much hilarity during the whole show.

But I wish we hadn’t stayed in the hotel. We always get one room because it saves money. The only problem, the same problem every time we share a hotel room is that both my parents snore. I have a hard enough time falling asleep in my own room (I think it has to do with my anxiety) so it’s almost impossible when I sleep in the same room with my parents. I love them to death but they’re so loud. And the other sucky part was there were three beds, well one was a hide-a-bed and guess who got it. Me. Ugh it was so uncomfortable. And I only had a sheet and a thin blanket, so I was freezing all night. Got only a few hours of sleep.

Even though my sleep experience last night wasn’t the greatest, I don’t think I would have traded it for anything “better.” I could think of many other things that could have been better. But I always enjoy ringing in the new year with my family. Even if we never actually celebrate it when the clock hits midnight (dad was asleep, mom was trying to fall asleep and my sister was watching netflix). I like doing things with my family. Doing these things with friends, well that’s another story for a later time. And doing things with a significant other (even though I no longer have one), can be bitter sweet at some point down the road. So I much rather do these with family. Even if it’s not something we all want to do, we still do it to make the one who desires to do it happy and have a happy memory together.


Btw, if you don’t know who Recycled Percussion (and I seriously feel bad for you), they’re a junk rock band from Goffstown, NH. That’s right I said junk rock. They use buckets, ladders, metal grinders, power drills to play music with. And the conventional guitar, drum cymbals and they use drum sticks to bang on the buckets with. But their shows are always so much more than just that. Oh and I almost forgot to mention…they were on a little show called America’s Got Talent! Although they didn’t win (which is okay because 80% of winners of talent shows you never hear from again), they did just finish their 500 show residency in Vegas. Go check them out some time. They’ll blow your mind!

Oh and PS – Recycled Percussion also has the world’s faster drummer (Justin Spencer) in the band. Just had to throw that out there.

Leave a Reply

