Boston Comic Con

On Sunday my dad and I went to Boston’s Comic Con. It was our first time. I’ve been wanting to go for a little while but I was kinda worried because I wasn’t sure what to expect. You see everything about San Diego Comic Con and it always looked like a little too much for me to handle. But I wish I could go because that’s where every television show and movie go to.

At least I got to go to BCC this year. There was one reason why I HAD to go…Captain Jack….I mean John Barrowman. If you don’t know who John Barrowman is, he’s a Scottish-American actor/singer/dancer/everything else. He played Captain Jack Harkness on Doctor Who and the DW spinoff show Torchwood. He currently plays Malcolm Merlyn on Arrow.

I loved meeting John. Even though it was only for a few seconds and I had to stand in line for an hour and a half, it was still awesome. I wish I could have hugged him in our photograph but my dad wanted to join the shot, so no hug. But what I loved most was that John pulled us in close. No other celebrity or sports player has ever pulled me in close. *side note, I haven’t ever posted a full body shot of me on here…so for those who don’t know, I’m a big girl.* Usually anyone I pose with for a photograph, they barely touch me. I always feel like I’m the most disgusting human being after posing. John is photographed with hundreds, thousands of people every week but for those ten seconds, he made me feel special. That’s what I love about him. He makes every person he comes in contact with (even for just a second) feel special. He’s truly one of a kind.

20140810_160704 20140810_160728 20140810_160748

I also got these pretty cool name tags. My girlfriend and I love Orange is the New Black so I had to get us Piper & Alex. I HAD to get a Ten & Rose name tags too. It was a must! Since they were 1/$5 or 5/$20, I had to get one more. So I had to get a Captain Jack. I wish I could have gotten a Ianto Jones one too (so all my couples could be complete) but I didn’t want to spend more money. I wish it had been 6/$20. I wanna find out if I can get these name tags somewhere.

The costumes were pretty awesome. There were so many doctors but it was kinda annoying that everyone just dressed up as Eleven. Well there was a Four too. But I just wanted so many Nines and Tens. There was even a Rose Tyler from The Idiot’s Lantern. I wish I could have gotten a photo with her. I was too intimidated to ask for a photograph with any cosplayers. There was even a Carl Fredricksen and (a female) Russell from Up. They weren’t together but they were there. A few Elsas and Annas from Frozen. A group of Ghostbusters. There was a Jessica Rabbit. Inspector Gadget. Two boys dressed up as Ash and Misty from Pokemon. There was a Captain Jack. Oh and I think Cas from Supernatural. I don’t know, I’ve never watched that show. That guy from Breaking Bad. A few Jokers and Batmen. And so many more!

I don’t know if I’ll ever go to Comic Con again. Only because it’s too many people crammed into one room and they move at turtle speed or spot and talk in the middle of the way. I’m not really claustrophobic, only when it comes to times like that. But I had fun. I’m glad I got to meet John Barrowman.

 

 

Leave a Reply

