How Can You Beat Handmade?

“Automation has made it possible to produce so many objects — from bread to shoes — without the intervention of human hands (assuming that pressing a button doesn’t count). What things do you still prefer in their traditional, handmade version?”

Nisu/Pulla: Even though I’ve never seen it mass produced (and I hope it never actually does), I’ll always eat handmade nisu. Nisu, or it’s actual name Pulla, is a Finnish cardamom bread. My Nana usually makes it during the winter. One day I hope to learn how to make it. Nana tried showing me once but since she’s been making it for probably 50 years (after she married my Papa), she makes it way too fast for me to keep up with. I need to learn how to make it through to keep the tradition alive. She’s pretty much the only one left in my whole (big) family who still makes it. I also have to find out if she knows my Mumu’s sweet roll recipe.

Knitting: I also love handmade hats, mittens and scarves. I tried learning how to knit once but I never seemed to get it. I wish I still had all hats and mittens my Mumu and Gigi made for me. Oh! And I love handmade knit blankets.

Pickles: The homemade pickles my Nana started making last year are quite something. I’ve never had a pickle like it in my life. I am addicted to them though.

Love Letters: Love letters from my girlfriend are my favorite. I have box of every little small thing she gives me. I say small things because I can’t fit a shirt or teddy bear into the box.

Bracelets: I love handmade string bracelets. I love the designs. One of my favorite designers is my friend Mel. She puts in so much effort. To see her bracelets, click here to view her shop. And here is her instagram for her shop so you can see her process of each bracelet.

Maple Syrup: God I love real maple syrup. But that could be because I’m a biased New Hampshire girl who will always prefer handmade syrup over that fake shit. I’m putting this in here even though people who make it run it through machines and “press buttons” to make it. They still have to do the whole set up to gather syrup from trees by hand so it still counts.

In response to The Daily Post’s….”Handmade Tales“.

2 thoughts on “How Can You Beat Handmade?

  1. Pingback: Who Made You? | It's Mayur Remember?

  2. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Let Your Heart Be Your Guide” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

