24 and Still Not an Adult

“As a kid, you must have imagined what it was like to be an adult. Now that you’re a grownup (or becoming one), how far off was your idea of adult life?”

I can’t remember specifically at what ages I thought about what adult life would be like. I can remember though that at some point (probably when I was 9-10), I thought I’d be making a lot of money and by the age of 23 I’d be married (to a man) and have two kids. Have a nice little house. A nice car. Maybe a dog (I always wanted a dog). From the time I was 5 until maybe 10, I wanted to be a kindergarten teacher. Not too crazy of ideas. Well at least that’s all I can remember.

But at that age I had no idea that…

  • Making money is harder than it seems.
  • I would find out I’m a lesbian. So definitely not going to marry a man.
  • I’m still figuring out if marriage is my thing or not.
  • I’m 24 and still no kids.
  • Even if I’m going to have kids, I’d want to adopt and that won’t be for a long time.
  • Buying a house isn’t easy and it’s way out of my future.
  • I’m 24 and don’t have a license. Driving makes me nervous and anxious.
  • I’ll probably never have a dog. I love dogs but I’m afraid of flees.
  • Can’t be a kindergarten teacher. Tried taking early elementary my junior year at another school. I had to drop the class after two months because I was failing. Already went to 2 colleges so I can’t afford more tuition bills.

My life isn’t going exactly as I imagined but it’s not all bad. I need to fix some things soon so I can be unbelievably happy with my life.

In response to The Daily Post’s….”Adult Visions

Leave a Reply

